Prof. Mary Faith Marshall

Mary Faith Marshall, PhD, Awarded the Association of Bioethics and Humanities Distinguished Service Award

Mary Faith Marshall is the Emily Davie and Joseph S. Kornfeld Professor of Biomedical Ethics and Director of the Center for Health Humanities and Ethics in the UVA School of Medicine and Professor of Nursing in the School of Nursing. She served as ASBH's second President from 1998-1999 and served on the ASBH Health Care Ethics Certification Task Force. She currently serves on its Task Force to Advance Certification. She was a member of the inaugural class of Health Care Ethics Consultants certified by the ASBH in 2019. Marshall is a member of the AJOB editorial board. She is an elected fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine where she is immediate past chair of the SCCM Ethics Committee and currently co-chairs the SCCM panel that is writing new end-of-life guidelines. She chaired the National Human Research Protections Advisory Committee. She was a member of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Committee on Ethics for eleven years. She received the Trailblazer Award from the Charleston Chapter of the NAACP for her work in policy approaches to perinatal substance use disorder.